re-focused

Three months ago my plan was to write a blog on my fast from social media in December and the few lessons I learned. I even have a sweet title for this post. But this is not that post.

Two months ago my plan was to write a blog about my goals for the 2012 year. Goals of accomplishing, growing, learning, and reading. I even have all the points laid out, typed up, ready for proofing. But this is not that post.

Two weeks ago my plan was to write a blog about the coming plans in my life and share my goals, and help me process “out loud” what was rattling around in my brain.

And this is that post, in a vague sense.

Two weeks ago my life drastically changed. And has provided an opportunity for me to evaluate life through a new and different filter. This new filter that I see things through, this new perspective that I cannot remove has re-focused my theology, worldview, priorities, and relationships. Chiefly, how vaporous life in the flesh is. At the end of it all, our flesh does what it was made for: degeneration. It is not made to last. The words of Paul below resonate with me right now, and sum this focus I now have:

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Dear brother and sister more will be written about this; it will clearly permeate my writing as I cannot escape this. All for the greater glory of God and my greater joy in Him.

Before I write more about my adventures in re-focused and mere Christianity, I hopefully will write a series of posts on an outreach trip I have the blessing of co-leading to my hometown, San Diego.

Along with 9 students and another Northwestern staff co-leader, I will be traveling south for 9 days of urban outreach, bible clubs, spiritual growth, and yes, In ‘n’ Out Burger. Please pray for unity of the team. Pray for our families that will be without us for 9 days. Pray that we eagerly join in the mighty things God is already doing in the neighborhood of National CIty that we will be in.

I cannot wait to see how He’s moving, to jump in alongside of faithful brothers and sisters already doing Kingdom work, and relay all these awesome workings to you.

–dems

2 comments

Engage in this discussion

