Captivating my meditations.

For my devotional time I try to read a Psalm a day, and this week I read Psalm 104 and one line stuck out to me. It was one of those times the Holy Spirit took a bright highlighter and spoke into a megaphone and I was convicted. Yes by the Psalms. Check these verses out, but pay attention to verse 34:

May the glory of the Lord endure forever; may the Lord rejoice in his works, who looks on the earth and it trembles, who touches the mountains and they smoke! I will sing to the Lord as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have being. May my meditation be pleasing to him, for I rejoice in the Lord. Let sinners be consumed from the earth, and let the wicked be no more! Bless the Lord, O my soul! Praise the Lord! – Psalm 104:31-34

Last month I read a book on walking with God. In this book the author portrays how a man can walk in a deep, personal, and meaningful relationship with God. Eldredge talks a lot about spiritual warfare, prayer, and bringing all things into the subjection of Christ (cf. 2 Corinthians 10:5-6). One thing he points out is in our hustle and bustle of pursuing sanctification in many areas of our lives, our meditations and dreams are often left unchecked.

We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete. – 2 Corinthians 10:5-6

This rocked my world (and makes me shake in my boots a little bit)! I don’t remember most of my dreams, and the ones I do remember I don’t recall them being sinful. But still,  I can’t say that my dreams and meditations (thoughts) are pleasing to God. As I reflect over the psalms, the author seems to constantly strive to meditate on things pleasing to God, if not God himself! I know that is not my mindset currently, and to be honest, most days.

his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. – Psalm 1:2

Do you think about how your dreams/meditations/thoughts look to God? I would love to hear your thoughts or how we can pursue to exalt Christ even in our meditations!

3 comments

  1. It was Tozer who challenged: “when you are free to think about what you will, what do you think about.”. Certainly the mind is a battleground, but the good news is that it is one that is controllable with disciplined thought. By taking those thoughts captive to Christ. But that captivating takes activity, regular and consistent. There is not an “automatic” setting to set and forget. A good remnider for today to be watchful and attentive to our thought lives!

  2. Matthew 5:27-28 27 “You have heard that it was said to those of old,[a] ‘You shall not commit adultery.’[b] 28 But I say to you that whoever looks at a woman to lust for her has already committed adultery with her in his heart.
    1 John 3:15 Everyone who hates his brother is a murderer
    With just those two verses above thought life can be a struggle if we do not check our hearts and our minds.
    As Christians we always try to get by saying we have not acted out on certain thoughts,but Christ has made it clear that what we are thinking is just as bad as acting it out,a bar bar for sure,but I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.Phil 4:13

Engage in this discussion

