I remember, and I thank you.

I am reminded of sorrow, on this day.
I am reminded of the fragility of life, on this day.
I am reminded of our inherent wickedness, on this day.

On this day I am reminded and confronted by the truths embedded in Psalm 90:15, “Make us glad for as many days as you have afflicted us, and for as many years that we have seen evil.”

But this picture is incomplete.  The previous verse is the psalmist calling out to God to, “Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all of our days.”

To even further balance my emotions on this day, consider verses 9-10, “For all our days pass away under your wrath; we bring our years to an end like a sigh. The years of our life are seventy, or even by reason of strength eighty; yet their span is but toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away.”

We fly away. The beauty in the pain and fragility of our terrestrial existence is that we are spiritual beings, transient here on our earth, but eternal in the life to come. By God’s grace and love, and through the work of Christ on the cross, we as believers look toward heaven as our eternal, celestial home. To those lost, eternal damnation–separation from God.

So on this Memorial Day I not only remember the men and women who fought and bled for the freedoms and liberties that I enjoy in my country America, but far more this day I reflect and express my deepest gratitude to the many faithful saints who have dedicated their lives for the gospel. Saints who grasped the fragility of man, the exceeding greatness of Christ, and stopped at nothing–not even a terrific, horrifying death–to make much of Christ.

Because of the work of these I experience the joy of Christ, the security of the Father, and the burden to spread his fame throughout the earth.  My final thoughts for this Memorial Day 2011:

“For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen.  For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:17-18

Engage in this discussion

